Florida All-Lines Certified Claims Adjuster (CCA) — Questions and Answers
Question 1: Under the principle of indemnity, what is the maximum amount an insured should receive for a covered loss?
- The full policy limit regardless of actual loss
- An amount sufficient to restore the insured to their pre-loss financial position (Correct answer)
- The original purchase price of the property
- Twice the market value of the damaged property
Correct answer: An amount sufficient to restore the insured to their pre-loss financial position
The principle of indemnity prohibits profiting from insurance; payment should restore—not improve—the insured's financial position.
Question 2: What is the purpose of an endorsement in an insurance policy?
- To explain insurance regulations
- To cancel the policy
- To define legal responsibilities
- To change policy terms or add coverage (Correct answer)
Correct answer: To change policy terms or add coverage
Endorsements are amendments or additions that modify the terms or coverage of the original policy.
Question 3: Which doctrine holds that a plaintiff who is even slightly at fault cannot recover damages from a defendant?
- Contributory negligence (Correct answer)
- Comparative negligence
- Vicarious liability
- Strict liability
Correct answer: Contributory negligence
Under contributory negligence, any fault by the plaintiff — no matter how small — completely bars recovery from the defendant.
Question 4: What is the first step in the claims handling process?
- Make payment to the claimant
- Evaluate the damages
- Acknowledge and set up the claim (Correct answer)
- Negotiate settlement
Correct answer: Acknowledge and set up the claim
The initial step in the claims process is to acknowledge and record the claim, establishing the claim file and beginning the investigation.
Question 5: What is the purpose of a vocational rehabilitation benefit in workers' compensation?
- To compensate the employer for retraining costs
- To train injured workers for new employment when they cannot return to their previous job (Correct answer)
- To permanently replace lost wage benefits
- To pay for college education unrelated to the injury
Correct answer: To train injured workers for new employment when they cannot return to their previous job
Vocational rehabilitation helps injured workers who cannot return to their former position acquire new skills or education to re-enter the workforce.
Question 6: Which type of damages are intended to punish egregious defendant conduct?
- Special damages
- Nominal damages
- Compensatory damages
- Punitive damages (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Punitive damages
Punitive damages go beyond compensating the plaintiff and are designed to punish willful, malicious, or grossly negligent conduct.
Question 7: Which communication technique is most useful when a claimant is emotional or upset during a claim interview?
- Talking over them to redirect the conversation
- Empathetic listening and acknowledging their feelings before proceeding (Correct answer)
- Immediately offering a settlement to diffuse the situation
- Ending the interview and rescheduling when they are calm
Correct answer: Empathetic listening and acknowledging their feelings before proceeding
Acknowledging the claimant's emotional state and demonstrating empathy helps de-escalate tension and creates a more productive communication environment.
Question 8: Which statute of limitations period typically applies to personal injury liability claims in most US states?
- 1 year
- 2–3 years (Correct answer)
- 10 years
- 6 months
Correct answer: 2–3 years
Most US states set a 2 to 3 year statute of limitations for personal injury claims, though it varies by jurisdiction.
Question 9: What does 'indemnification' mean in a liability context?
- Restoring the injured party to their pre-loss financial position (Correct answer)
- Waiving the right to file future claims
- Transferring the risk of loss to a third party before a claim occurs
- Assigning all liability to the insurer permanently
Correct answer: Restoring the injured party to their pre-loss financial position
Indemnification is the principle of making the injured party whole again financially, without profit or penalty.
Question 10: An adjuster discovers that a third-party claimant's injuries were partly caused by a pre-existing condition. How should this affect the claim evaluation?
- The pre-existing condition is irrelevant and full damages apply
- The insured is liable only for the aggravation or worsening of the pre-existing condition (Correct answer)
- The claim should be denied entirely
- The claimant must provide proof of the pre-existing condition before any payment
Correct answer: The insured is liable only for the aggravation or worsening of the pre-existing condition
Under the 'eggshell skull' rule, defendants are liable for the full extent of injuries, but compensation can be apportioned to reflect only the aggravation of pre-existing conditions.
Question 11: Under most state laws, adjusters and insurers are required to report suspected fraud to:
- The insured's employer
- The reinsurer only
- The state department of insurance and/or law enforcement (Correct answer)
- The claimant's attorney
Correct answer: The state department of insurance and/or law enforcement
Most states mandate that insurers report suspected fraud to the state insurance department and/or law enforcement, and many provide immunity from civil liability for good-faith fraud reports.
Question 12: What organization in the US serves as the primary repository for insurance fraud information shared among insurers?
- NAIC
- NICB (National Insurance Crime Bureau) (Correct answer)
- ISO/Verisk
- FBI
Correct answer: NICB (National Insurance Crime Bureau)
The NICB is a non-profit organization funded by insurers that works with law enforcement to detect and prevent insurance fraud and vehicle theft.
Question 13: Which type of adjuster is an independent contractor hired by insurers on a per-claim basis?
- Public adjuster
- Staff adjuster
- Catastrophe adjuster
- Independent adjuster (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Independent adjuster
Independent adjusters are self-employed or work for independent adjusting firms and are engaged by insurers when extra capacity or specialized expertise is needed.
Question 14: Which of the following injuries would likely be found NON-compensable under workers' compensation?
- A repetitive strain injury from data entry duties
- A slip and fall while carrying work supplies
- An occupational disease caused by chemical exposure at work
- An injury sustained during a voluntary company social event held off-premises (Correct answer)
Correct answer: An injury sustained during a voluntary company social event held off-premises
Injuries at voluntary, off-premises social events are generally not considered to arise 'out of and in the course of employment,' making them non-compensable.
Question 15: When adjusting a water damage claim, an adjuster discovers mold resulting from the original water intrusion. Under most homeowner's policies, how is mold damage typically treated?
- Fully covered as part of the original water damage claim
- Subject to a sublimit or exclusion, requiring review of the specific policy language (Correct answer)
- Automatically covered up to the full policy limit
- Excluded entirely regardless of the cause
Correct answer: Subject to a sublimit or exclusion, requiring review of the specific policy language
Most homeowner's policies either exclude mold entirely or cover it with a sublimit, making review of the specific policy language essential before including it in the settlement.
Question 16: What is 'arson for profit' in the context of insurance fraud?
- Accidentally starting a fire and over-claiming the loss
- Filing a fire claim for a property located in a different state
- Claiming fire damage that was caused by an excluded peril
- Deliberately setting fire to property to collect insurance proceeds (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Deliberately setting fire to property to collect insurance proceeds
Arson for profit is hard fraud where the policyholder intentionally sets fire to their property — often when facing financial difficulty — to collect insurance money.
Question 17: When an adjuster suspects fraud, the FIRST action they should typically take is:
- Contact the claimant to confront them about the suspicion
- Deny the claim immediately
- Alert law enforcement without telling the insurer
- Document the red flags and refer the file to the Special Investigations Unit (SIU) (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Document the red flags and refer the file to the Special Investigations Unit (SIU)
Adjusters should document suspicious indicators and refer the claim to the insurer's Special Investigations Unit (SIU) rather than acting unilaterally or confronting the claimant.
Question 18: A claimant submits medical bills for treatment on a date when records show they were out of the country. This is best described as:
- Medical billing fraud / hard fraud (Correct answer)
- Premium evasion
- Material misrepresentation at policy inception
- Soft fraud through exaggeration
Correct answer: Medical billing fraud / hard fraud
Submitting bills for treatment that never occurred is a form of hard fraud — in this case, medical billing fraud involving fabricated records.
Question 19: The concept of 'waiver' in claims handling means:
- The insurer intentionally relinquishes a known right under the policy (Correct answer)
- The adjuster delays investigation without consequence
- The claimant agrees to accept less than the full claim value
- The insured forfeits their right to sue
Correct answer: The insurer intentionally relinquishes a known right under the policy
Waiver occurs when an insurer voluntarily gives up a policy defense or right it could have enforced, such as a coverage exclusion.
Question 20: Why is it important to maintain accurate documentation throughout the claims process?
- To verify claimant income
- To reduce company overhead
- To calculate premium refunds
- To support claim decisions and legal compliance (Correct answer)
Correct answer: To support claim decisions and legal compliance
Accurate documentation ensures transparency, protects against legal liability, and provides a record of actions taken.
Question 21: Which type of insurance fraud involves a policyholder exaggerating an otherwise legitimate claim?
- Opportunistic fraud
- Soft fraud
- Hard fraud
- Both B and C (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Both B and C
Soft fraud (also called opportunistic fraud) occurs when a policyholder inflates a genuine claim, such as adding extra items to a theft loss or exaggerating injury severity.
Question 22: Which element is NOT required to establish negligence in a liability claim?
- Proximate cause
- Intent to harm (Correct answer)
- Breach of duty
- Duty of care
Correct answer: Intent to harm
Negligence requires duty, breach, causation, and damages — intent to harm is an element of intentional torts, not negligence.
Question 23: Coordination of Benefits (COB) is a process used when:
- A claimant has coverage under more than one health insurance plan (Correct answer)
- Two insurers dispute liability for an accident
- A claimant files claims with multiple attorneys
- An adjuster coordinates with multiple repair facilities
Correct answer: A claimant has coverage under more than one health insurance plan
COB establishes how multiple health insurance plans share the cost of a medical claim when a person is covered by more than one plan, preventing duplicate or excessive payments.
Question 24: What is a 'scheduled loss of use' award in workers' compensation?
- A structured settlement for permanent total disability
- A penalty imposed on employers who delay claim reporting
- A weekly benefit paid during temporary disability
- A lump sum payment for permanent impairment to a specific body part based on a statutory schedule (Correct answer)
Correct answer: A lump sum payment for permanent impairment to a specific body part based on a statutory schedule
Many states use a statutory schedule assigning a fixed number of weeks' compensation for permanent loss of function to specific body parts.
Question 25: What is an 'independent medical examination' (IME) in a workers' compensation claim?
- An examination performed only in disputed claims before a judge
- A diagnostic test required before any claim can be filed
- An exam conducted by the treating physician to certify disability
- A medical evaluation by a neutral physician chosen by the insurer or employer to assess the claim (Correct answer)
Correct answer: A medical evaluation by a neutral physician chosen by the insurer or employer to assess the claim
An IME is conducted by a physician selected by the insurer or employer to provide an objective opinion on the nature, extent, and causation of the injury.
Question 26: The 'other insurance' clause in a property policy is designed to:
- Coordinate benefits between health and property policies
- Prevent the insured from collecting more than the actual loss when multiple policies cover the same property (Correct answer)
- Allow the insurer to cancel the policy if other insurance is found
- Require the insured to purchase additional coverage
Correct answer: Prevent the insured from collecting more than the actual loss when multiple policies cover the same property
The other insurance clause prevents over-insurance windfalls by ensuring that when multiple policies cover the same loss, the combined payment does not exceed the actual loss amount.
Question 27: A homeowner's policy contains a coinsurance clause requiring the property to be insured to 80% of its replacement value. If the owner insures to only 60%, how is a partial loss paid?
- A proportionate share based on the ratio of insurance carried to insurance required (Correct answer)
- Actual cash value only
- Full replacement cost up to policy limits
- Nothing — coinsurance violation voids the policy
Correct answer: A proportionate share based on the ratio of insurance carried to insurance required
Under the coinsurance formula, the insurer pays (amount carried Ă· amount required) Ă— loss amount, penalizing underinsurance on partial losses.
Question 28: The 'exclusive remedy' doctrine in workers' compensation means:
- Employees can only file claims under state law, not federal law
- Workers' compensation is the sole remedy for injured employees against their employer (Correct answer)
- The employer may only use one insurer for all workers' comp coverage
- Only one type of benefit can be paid per injury
Correct answer: Workers' compensation is the sole remedy for injured employees against their employer
Exclusive remedy bars employees from suing their employer in tort for work-related injuries; workers' compensation is their only recourse against the employer.
Question 29: What is 'claim padding' in insurance fraud?
- Submitting the same claim to two different insurers
- Adding fictitious or inflated items to a legitimate property claim (Correct answer)
- Filing a claim before coverage is in place
- Using a false identity to obtain insurance
Correct answer: Adding fictitious or inflated items to a legitimate property claim
Claim padding involves adding non-existent or over-valued items to a valid insurance claim to receive more money than is actually owed.
Question 30: A claimant alleges soft-tissue injuries after an auto accident but has no objective medical findings. What investigative tool might an adjuster use to verify the claim?
- Refer the claim to the state attorney general
- Order an Independent Medical Examination (IME) (Correct answer)
- Automatically deny all soft-tissue claims
- Require the claimant to retake the driver's license exam
Correct answer: Order an Independent Medical Examination (IME)
An IME by an independent physician can provide an objective medical opinion on the nature, extent, and causation of the claimant's injuries.
Question 31: Social media posts showing a claimant performing physical activities they claim they cannot do are best used by adjusters to:
- Support an SIU referral and potential fraud investigation (Correct answer)
- Prove the policy should have been canceled
- Establish the insured's premium for the renewal period
- Automatically deny the claim without further investigation
Correct answer: Support an SIU referral and potential fraud investigation
Social media evidence showing activities inconsistent with claimed disability can support an SIU fraud referral and, if confirmed, may result in claim denial or prosecution.
Question 32: What is the purpose of the 'deductible' in an insurance policy?
- To reduce the risk of claim fraud
- To define coverage limits
- To require the insured to share in the loss (Correct answer)
- To increase premiums
Correct answer: To require the insured to share in the loss
A deductible is the amount the insured must pay out of pocket before the insurance coverage begins to pay for a loss.
Question 33: A commercial general liability (CGL) policy's 'products-completed operations' coverage protects the insured against claims arising from:
- Damage to the insured's own products while in transit
- Contractual liability assumed in a product distribution agreement
- Employee injuries sustained while manufacturing products
- Bodily injury or property damage occurring after a product is sold or work is completed (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Bodily injury or property damage occurring after a product is sold or work is completed
Products-completed operations coverage applies to BI/PD claims arising after the insured's product leaves their custody or after contracted work has been completed.
Question 34: A 'phantom vehicle' scheme in auto insurance fraud typically involves:
- Staging an accident with a government vehicle for a larger settlement
- Insuring a vehicle under a different owner's name
- Claiming an accident with a non-existent vehicle to collect bodily injury or property damage payments (Correct answer)
- Reporting a vehicle stolen that was actually sold
Correct answer: Claiming an accident with a non-existent vehicle to collect bodily injury or property damage payments
Phantom vehicle schemes fabricate accidents with a fictitious vehicle to generate fraudulent bodily injury or property damage claims.
Question 35: An adjuster suspects arson in a fire loss claim. Which investigative resource is MOST appropriate to engage?
- The local building code inspector
- The insured's own contractor
- A public adjuster hired by the claimant
- A certified fire investigator or origin and cause expert (Correct answer)
Correct answer: A certified fire investigator or origin and cause expert
A certified fire investigator specializes in determining the origin and cause of fires, including identifying whether a fire was intentionally set.
Question 36: What does 'BATNA' stand for, and why is it important in claims negotiation?
- Basic Adjustment Terms for Neutral Arbitration — it sets the default arbitration process
- Best Alternative To a Negotiated Agreement — it defines the strongest position if negotiations fail (Correct answer)
- Bureau of Adjuster Training for National Accreditation — it is a licensing body
- Balanced Approach To Negotiating Agreements — it describes fair settlement principles
Correct answer: Best Alternative To a Negotiated Agreement — it defines the strongest position if negotiations fail
BATNA (Best Alternative To a Negotiated Agreement) helps negotiators understand their walkaway point and strengthens their leverage in settlement discussions.
Question 37: What is the primary purpose of a reservation of rights letter sent to an insured?
- To extend the policy period
- To request additional premium payment
- To deny the claim outright
- To notify the insured that coverage may not apply while the insurer investigates (Correct answer)
Correct answer: To notify the insured that coverage may not apply while the insurer investigates
A reservation of rights letter informs the insured that the insurer is investigating the claim without waiving its right to later deny coverage based on policy exclusions.
Question 38: Which of the following is a common red flag for auto insurance fraud?
- Policy purchased shortly before the reported loss (Correct answer)
- Vehicle photographed at the scene by police
- Multiple witnesses at the accident scene
- Claim filed on the same day as the accident
Correct answer: Policy purchased shortly before the reported loss
Purchasing a policy shortly before a reported loss is a classic fraud indicator, suggesting the 'loss' may have been pre-planned.
Question 39: Which form is commonly used to report a workers' compensation claim to the insurer in many US states?
- OSHA 300 Log
- CMS-1500
- First Report of Injury (FROI) (Correct answer)
- ACORD 1
Correct answer: First Report of Injury (FROI)
The First Report of Injury (FROI) is the standard form used by employers to notify the workers' compensation insurer and state agency of a workplace injury.
Question 40: When a represented claimant's attorney is involved, the adjuster should typically:
- Refuse to communicate with the attorney and request a different representative
- Only communicate in person at scheduled mediation sessions
- Direct all communications through the attorney and avoid direct claimant contact (Correct answer)
- Contact the claimant directly to negotiate a faster settlement
Correct answer: Direct all communications through the attorney and avoid direct claimant contact
Once a claimant is represented by an attorney, ethical rules and professional standards require adjusters to communicate through the attorney rather than contacting the claimant directly.
Question 41: What does 'light duty' mean in a workers' compensation context?
- The employer is not required to provide any accommodation
- Modified or restricted work assignments within the injured employee's medical restrictions (Correct answer)
- Part-time work without any wage replacement benefits
- A permanent demotion due to the work injury
Correct answer: Modified or restricted work assignments within the injured employee's medical restrictions
Light duty refers to temporary work assignments modified to accommodate the injured worker's medical restrictions while they recover.
Question 42: What is the 'made whole' doctrine in subrogation?
- The insurer recovers first and then pays the remainder to the insured
- Subrogation applies only when the third party is fully insured
- The insured must be fully compensated before the insurer can recover subrogation proceeds (Correct answer)
- The insurer must prove negligence before asserting subrogation
Correct answer: The insured must be fully compensated before the insurer can recover subrogation proceeds
The made whole doctrine prevents the insurer from recovering subrogation proceeds until the insured has been fully indemnified for their total loss.
Question 43: The 'insuring agreement' section of an insurance policy primarily serves to:
- Define the terms and conditions under which the insurer promises to pay (Correct answer)
- List all exclusions from coverage
- Establish the premium payment schedule
- Describe the insured's duties after a loss
Correct answer: Define the terms and conditions under which the insurer promises to pay
The insuring agreement is the insurer's promise to pay — it outlines what coverage is provided, subject to the policy's conditions, exclusions, and definitions.
Question 44: An 'umbrella' policy differs from an 'excess' liability policy primarily because an umbrella policy:
- Excludes all products liability claims
- Only applies after the named insured's primary policy is exhausted
- Has lower limits than the primary policy
- Can drop down to provide primary coverage for claims not covered by underlying policies (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Can drop down to provide primary coverage for claims not covered by underlying policies
An umbrella policy can 'drop down' to cover gaps in the underlying policy or claims not covered by the primary policy, while a pure excess policy only sits above the primary limits.
Question 45: In a third-party liability claim, who is the 'third party'?
- The insurance company
- The reinsurance company
- The injured person making a claim against the insured (Correct answer)
- The policyholder who purchased the coverage
Correct answer: The injured person making a claim against the insured
In a third-party claim, the injured claimant (not the insured) makes a demand against the insured's liability policy.
Question 46: A worker injures their back while lifting at work and later develops a psychological condition due to chronic pain. Is the psychological condition likely compensable?
- No, only the original physical injury is compensable
- Only if a psychiatrist certifies the condition before the physical injury heals
- Yes, if the psychological condition is a direct consequence of the compensable physical injury (Correct answer)
- No, psychological conditions are never covered under workers' compensation
Correct answer: Yes, if the psychological condition is a direct consequence of the compensable physical injury
Secondary psychological conditions that are causally related to a compensable physical work injury are generally covered under workers' compensation.
Question 47: A 'liberalization clause' in an insurance policy provides that if the insurer broadens coverage without additional premium during the policy period:
- The insured must request the broader coverage in writing within 30 days
- The broader coverage only applies to newly issued policies
- The insured must pay an additional premium to receive the broader coverage
- The broader coverage automatically applies to existing policies in force (Correct answer)
Correct answer: The broader coverage automatically applies to existing policies in force
The liberalization clause ensures policyholders automatically benefit from mid-term coverage improvements the insurer makes to its standard forms without needing to endorse or renegotiate each policy.
Question 48: A claimant submits a sworn Proof of Loss 65 days after a fire loss, but the policy requires submission within 60 days. What should the adjuster consider?
- Accept it without any review
- Automatically deny the claim for late submission
- Waive the requirement if the insurer's conduct did not prejudice the claimant (Correct answer)
- Request a new Proof of Loss with a falsified date
Correct answer: Waive the requirement if the insurer's conduct did not prejudice the claimant
Courts often find that an insurer waives a late Proof of Loss deadline if its own conduct (e.g., ongoing negotiations) prevented timely submission or caused no prejudice.
Question 49: Which approach is generally MOST effective when negotiating a claims settlement?
- Presenting a well-supported offer based on documented facts and explaining the rationale (Correct answer)
- Making the highest offer immediately to end the negotiation quickly
- Starting with a very low offer to leave maximum negotiating room
- Refusing to negotiate and sticking strictly to the first offer
Correct answer: Presenting a well-supported offer based on documented facts and explaining the rationale
A documented, well-reasoned offer is most effective because it demonstrates credibility, reduces disputes, and can withstand legal scrutiny.
Question 50: When is a claim considered settled?
- When both parties agree on compensation (Correct answer)
- When the adjuster sends the report
- When policy renews
- When the claim is denied
Correct answer: When both parties agree on compensation
A claim is settled when both parties agree on the amount, and the claimant accepts the payment, concluding the insurer’s obligation.
Question 51: What protection does 'qualified immunity' typically provide to insurance adjusters or companies who report suspected fraud in good faith?
- It exempts them from paying the claim if fraud is later unproven
- It entitles them to a reward from the state if the fraud is prosecuted
- It prevents any civil lawsuit by the accused claimant for the fraud report (Correct answer)
- It gives them absolute immunity from any legal action
Correct answer: It prevents any civil lawsuit by the accused claimant for the fraud report
Most states grant qualified (or conditional) immunity from civil liability to insurers and adjusters who report suspected fraud in good faith, encouraging reporting without fear of defamation lawsuits.
Question 52: Which type of workers' compensation disability benefit covers a worker who can return to work in a limited capacity at reduced wages?
- Permanent total disability (PTD)
- Temporary total disability (TTD)
- Permanent partial disability (PPD)
- Temporary partial disability (TPD) (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Temporary partial disability (TPD)
Temporary partial disability (TPD) benefits compensate for the wage difference when an injured worker returns to modified or light-duty work at reduced earnings.
Question 53: What is 'assumption of risk' as a defense in liability claims?
- The plaintiff knowingly accepted the danger that led to their injury (Correct answer)
- The insurer assumed the insured's liability without investigation
- The court assumed negligence without direct evidence
- The defendant assumed responsibility for all damages voluntarily
Correct answer: The plaintiff knowingly accepted the danger that led to their injury
Assumption of risk is a defense arguing that the plaintiff voluntarily encountered a known danger, potentially reducing or barring recovery.
Question 54: What is a 'compromise and release' (C&R) settlement in workers' compensation?
- A partial payment plan for medical bills
- A lump sum settlement that closes out all future workers' comp benefits (Correct answer)
- An agreement to return to work at reduced pay
- A court order requiring the employer to provide treatment
Correct answer: A lump sum settlement that closes out all future workers' comp benefits
A compromise and release is a final lump sum settlement that extinguishes all or most future workers' compensation obligations in exchange for a one-time payment.
Question 55: What is a 'demand letter' in a claims context?
- A court summons requiring the insurer to appear
- A written document from the claimant or their attorney stating the amount sought to settle a claim (Correct answer)
- A letter from the insurer denying the claim
- A request from the insured for a certified copy of their policy
Correct answer: A written document from the claimant or their attorney stating the amount sought to settle a claim
A demand letter sets out the claimant's version of the facts, damages, and the settlement amount they are requesting from the insurer or insured.
Question 56: What is a 'superbill' in medical claims processing?
- An invoice for extremely high-cost medical procedures
- A bill sent directly to the patient's employer
- A summary of all claims filed by a claimant in one year
- A detailed itemized statement of medical services and their billing codes (Correct answer)
Correct answer: A detailed itemized statement of medical services and their billing codes
A superbill is a comprehensive itemized form listing all services provided during a medical visit along with their corresponding diagnosis and procedure codes, used for insurance billing.
Question 57: A subrogation waiver in a contract means the insurer:
- Gives up its right to recover from the third party (Correct answer)
- Can still pursue the third party after paying a claim
- Must obtain consent before filing suit
- Is required to split recovery with the insured
Correct answer: Gives up its right to recover from the third party
When a policyholder agrees to a subrogation waiver, the insurer relinquishes its right to recover from the responsible third party after paying the claim.
Question 58: What is a 'letter of protection' sometimes used in liability claims?
- A court order preventing disclosure of claim files
- An agreement where a medical provider defers billing until a settlement (Correct answer)
- A waiver signed by the claimant releasing future damages
- A document shielding the insurer from bad faith claims
Correct answer: An agreement where a medical provider defers billing until a settlement
A letter of protection is an agreement between a claimant's attorney and a healthcare provider to delay billing until the personal injury case is resolved.
Question 59: Which of the following best describes 'premium fraud'?
- Inflating a claim payment after the loss occurs
- Using another person's insurance card without permission
- Filing multiple claims on the same loss
- Misrepresenting information at application to obtain lower premiums (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Misrepresenting information at application to obtain lower premiums
Premium fraud occurs when an applicant misrepresents facts (such as the primary driver, garaging location, or vehicle use) to pay lower premiums than they should.
Question 60: A claimant is filmed performing heavy physical activities at home while claiming total disability. This evidence is most useful for:
- Establishing that the employer violated safety regulations
- Investigating potential workers' compensation fraud (Correct answer)
- Proving the injury was pre-existing
- Increasing the claimant's permanent disability rating
Correct answer: Investigating potential workers' compensation fraud
Surveillance footage showing physical activities inconsistent with claimed disability is key evidence in workers' compensation fraud investigations.
Question 61: In property claims, what does 'betterment' refer to?
- Additional coverage for home renovations
- The adjuster's fee for evaluating improvements
- Improvements made to the property before the loss
- A deduction applied when repairs result in the damaged property being in better condition than before the loss (Correct answer)
Correct answer: A deduction applied when repairs result in the damaged property being in better condition than before the loss
Betterment is a reduction in settlement when repairs or replacements leave the property in a superior condition to its pre-loss state, preventing the insured from profiting.
Question 62: Under pure comparative negligence, how is a claimant's recovery affected if they are 30% at fault?
- Their recovery is unaffected
- They cannot recover at all
- Their recovery is reduced by 30% (Correct answer)
- Their recovery is reduced by 70%
Correct answer: Their recovery is reduced by 30%
Pure comparative negligence reduces the plaintiff's damages award by their own percentage of fault.
Question 63: Workers' compensation is considered a 'no-fault' system because:
- Employees receive benefits regardless of who caused the accident (Correct answer)
- Employers never have to pay for workplace injuries
- Only third parties can be held liable for workplace injuries
- The government pays all workers' compensation claims
Correct answer: Employees receive benefits regardless of who caused the accident
Workers' compensation provides benefits to injured employees without requiring them to prove employer negligence, and in exchange, employees generally cannot sue their employer.
Question 64: An employer is typically vicariously liable for employee negligence when the employee is:
- Performing personal errands during lunch
- Off duty and away from company premises
- Acting within the scope of employment (Correct answer)
- Commuting to work
Correct answer: Acting within the scope of employment
Employers are generally held vicariously liable only when the employee's negligent act occurs within the scope of their employment duties.
Question 65: Which metric is commonly used to evaluate an employer's workers' compensation loss experience for insurance rating purposes?
- Experience modification factor (e-mod) (Correct answer)
- Loss ratio
- Expense ratio
- Combined ratio
Correct answer: Experience modification factor (e-mod)
The experience modification factor (e-mod or EMR) compares an employer's actual loss history to the expected losses for their industry, adjusting premium up or down.
Question 66: Which party bears the burden of proof in most civil liability claims in the US?
- The court, using judicial notice
- The plaintiff, by a preponderance of the evidence (Correct answer)
- The insurer, by clear and convincing evidence
- The defendant, beyond a reasonable doubt
Correct answer: The plaintiff, by a preponderance of the evidence
Civil liability claims require the plaintiff to prove their case by a preponderance of the evidence, meaning more likely true than not.
Question 67: Under OSHA, which injuries must be recorded on the OSHA 300 log?
- Injuries reported more than 30 days after they occur
- Only fatalities and hospitalizations
- Work-related injuries requiring more than first aid treatment (Correct answer)
- All minor first aid injuries
Correct answer: Work-related injuries requiring more than first aid treatment
OSHA requires recording of work-related injuries and illnesses that result in more than first aid treatment, days away from work, restricted work, medical treatment beyond first aid, or diagnosis by a healthcare professional.
Question 68: An 'occurrence' under a CGL policy is best defined as:
- Each individual claimant who suffers a loss
- Any single lawsuit filed against the insured
- An accident, including continuous or repeated exposure to conditions, that results in bodily injury or property damage (Correct answer)
- A specific date on which a product defect is discovered
Correct answer: An accident, including continuous or repeated exposure to conditions, that results in bodily injury or property damage
The CGL policy defines 'occurrence' broadly to include not just sudden accidents but also ongoing exposure to harmful conditions, ensuring long-tail claims (like pollution or asbestos) can be covered.
Question 69: What is the primary purpose of a reservation of rights letter?
- To transfer the claim to a different insurer
- To notify the insured that coverage may be limited while the insurer investigates (Correct answer)
- To deny a claim outright and close the file
- To demand payment of premiums before processing a claim
Correct answer: To notify the insured that coverage may be limited while the insurer investigates
A reservation of rights letter allows the insurer to investigate and defend a claim while preserving its right to later deny coverage based on policy exclusions.
Question 70: A 'manuscript policy' in commercial insurance refers to:
- A custom-drafted policy negotiated specifically for a particular insured's unique exposures (Correct answer)
- A historical policy form no longer in use
- A policy written entirely in plain English without legal jargon
- A policy that covers rare manuscripts and collectible documents
Correct answer: A custom-drafted policy negotiated specifically for a particular insured's unique exposures
A manuscript policy is individually negotiated and drafted to address the specific, often complex or unusual, coverage needs of a large commercial insured rather than using standard ISO forms.
Question 71: Which factor most directly determines whether a claimant's settlement demand is 'reasonable' from a claims adjuster's perspective?
- The claimant's emotional distress level
- Whether the demand is supported by documented damages, liability evidence, and applicable coverage (Correct answer)
- The claimant's persistence in negotiation
- Whether the demand is below the policy's aggregate limit
Correct answer: Whether the demand is supported by documented damages, liability evidence, and applicable coverage
Reasonableness in settlement valuation is grounded in documented evidence — medical records, repair estimates, liability analysis — not in how forcefully a claimant negotiates.
Question 72: A claimant alleges diminished value of a vehicle after repairs following a collision. What does 'inherent diminished value' specifically mean?
- Depreciation applied to the repaired vehicle parts
- The difference between pre-loss ACV and repair cost
- The residual reduction in a vehicle's market value that persists even after quality repairs due to its accident history (Correct answer)
- The cost of repairs that were not completed properly
Correct answer: The residual reduction in a vehicle's market value that persists even after quality repairs due to its accident history
Inherent diminished value is the permanent reduction in a vehicle's resale value caused solely by its accident history, even when repairs are performed perfectly.
Question 73: What is 'index system' used for in insurance fraud detection?
- To track adjuster performance metrics
- To index inflation adjustments in claim settlements
- To calculate premium rates based on actuarial tables
- To cross-reference claim data across multiple insurers to identify claimants involved in suspicious patterns (Correct answer)
Correct answer: To cross-reference claim data across multiple insurers to identify claimants involved in suspicious patterns
Index systems (like ISO ClaimSearch) allow insurers to share and compare claim data to identify individuals who have filed similar or suspicious claims with multiple companies.
Question 74: An adjuster settles a property claim and later discovers the insured committed material misrepresentation on the original application. What option is typically available to the insurer?
- The settlement is final and cannot be revisited
- The insurer must honor all paid claims even after discovering fraud
- The insurer can reduce future premiums as the only remedy
- The insurer may void the policy ab initio and seek recovery of the settlement payment (Correct answer)
Correct answer: The insurer may void the policy ab initio and seek recovery of the settlement payment
Material misrepresentation on a policy application typically allows the insurer to void the policy from inception (ab initio) and may permit recovery of claim payments already made.
Question 75: What is subrogation in the context of insurance claims?
- The process of canceling a policy after a claim
- A method of splitting claim payments between parties
- The insured's right to appeal a denied claim
- The insurer's right to pursue a third party that caused an insurance loss (Correct answer)
Correct answer: The insurer's right to pursue a third party that caused an insurance loss
Subrogation allows an insurer that has paid a loss to step into the insured's shoes and recover that payment from the responsible third party.
Question 76: Which of the following is an example of 'consequential damages' in a property claim?
- Loss of rental income while the home is being repaired (Correct answer)
- Cost to repair the damaged roof
- The policy deductible amount
- Depreciation applied to damaged personal property
Correct answer: Loss of rental income while the home is being repaired
Consequential (or indirect) damages are losses that flow as a consequence of the direct damage, such as lost rental income during repairs.
Question 77: During a structural damage inspection, an adjuster discovers pre-existing damage unrelated to the current loss. How should this be handled in the settlement?
- Include all damage in the settlement to benefit the insured
- Exclude the pre-existing damage and only cover loss caused by the covered peril (Correct answer)
- Request the insured repair pre-existing damage before settling
- Deny the entire claim due to pre-existing conditions
Correct answer: Exclude the pre-existing damage and only cover loss caused by the covered peril
Adjusters must differentiate between damage caused by the covered peril and pre-existing damage, settling only for the loss attributable to the covered event.
Question 78: What is a medical lien in personal injury claims?
- A document authorizing emergency medical treatment
- A type of supplemental health insurance policy
- A healthcare provider's legal right to share in settlement proceeds for unpaid medical bills (Correct answer)
- A court order requiring ongoing medical treatment
Correct answer: A healthcare provider's legal right to share in settlement proceeds for unpaid medical bills
A medical lien gives healthcare providers who treated an injury victim the legal right to be reimbursed from any settlement or judgment the patient receives for their injuries.
Question 79: A claimant submits a claim for a theft that allegedly occurred, but investigation reveals no forced entry and conflicting statements. The adjuster should:
- Deny the claim without further review
- Pay the claim immediately to avoid bad faith
- Refer the claim to underwriting for policy cancellation
- Document inconsistencies and conduct a thorough investigation before deciding (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Document inconsistencies and conduct a thorough investigation before deciding
Suspicious circumstances require thorough investigation and documentation before any coverage decision is made.
Question 80: Which statute of limitations issue is MOST relevant when handling a liability claim?
- The date by which the claimant must file suit or lose the right to do so (Correct answer)
- The date the insurer received the claim
- The date the adjuster was assigned to the file
- The date the policy was issued
Correct answer: The date by which the claimant must file suit or lose the right to do so
Adjusters must track the claimant's statute of limitations to ensure any settlement occurs before the claimant's right to sue expires, protecting all parties.
Question 81: Which of the following is typically NOT a benefit provided under workers' compensation?
- Vocational rehabilitation
- Pain and suffering damages (Correct answer)
- Medical treatment for work injuries
- Temporary disability payments
Correct answer: Pain and suffering damages
Workers' compensation covers medical expenses, lost wages, and rehabilitation, but does not include non-economic damages such as pain and suffering.
Question 82: A 'maximum medical improvement' (MMI) determination in a workers' comp claim means:
- The employer must pay for all future medical costs indefinitely
- The worker has fully recovered and has no permanent impairment
- The claim is automatically closed with no further benefits
- The worker's condition has stabilized and is unlikely to improve further with treatment (Correct answer)
Correct answer: The worker's condition has stabilized and is unlikely to improve further with treatment
MMI is the point at which the injured worker's medical condition has stabilized and additional treatment is not expected to produce significant improvement.
Question 83: When a third party (not the employer) causes a work injury, the injured worker may:
- File only a personal injury lawsuit and waive workers' compensation benefits
- Only collect workers' compensation and waive all other claims
- Sue the third party AND receive workers' compensation, with potential subrogation by the insurer (Correct answer)
- Sue the employer and the third party simultaneously for double recovery
Correct answer: Sue the third party AND receive workers' compensation, with potential subrogation by the insurer
An injured worker can receive workers' compensation benefits and pursue a third-party tort claim; the workers' comp insurer typically has a subrogation lien on any third-party recovery.
Question 84: Which pattern is MOST consistent with a 'swoop and squat' auto fraud scheme?
- A car cuts in front of another vehicle and brakes suddenly to cause a rear-end collision (Correct answer)
- An insured reports a hit-and-run with no witnesses
- An insured files claims with two insurers for the same accident
- A driver claims injury from a pothole on a public road
Correct answer: A car cuts in front of another vehicle and brakes suddenly to cause a rear-end collision
A swoop and squat involves a fraud vehicle cutting in front of an innocent driver and braking suddenly so the victim rear-ends them, generating a fraudulent bodily injury claim.
Question 85: An adjuster sends an acknowledgment letter within 10 days of receiving a claim. What purpose does this serve?
- It transfers the claim to a litigation adjuster automatically
- It demonstrates compliance with prompt payment statutes and sets claimant expectations (Correct answer)
- It finalizes the claim and authorizes payment
- It locks the insured into the initial claim amount
Correct answer: It demonstrates compliance with prompt payment statutes and sets claimant expectations
Timely acknowledgment letters satisfy regulatory prompt response requirements and inform the claimant that the claim is being handled, setting expectations for the process.
Question 86: A 'peer review' in medical claims handling involves:
- Insurance adjusters reviewing medical bills with their supervisors
- A qualified medical professional evaluating the appropriateness of another physician's treatment (Correct answer)
- A claimant reviewing their own medical records for errors
- Injured workers reviewing each other's claims for accuracy
Correct answer: A qualified medical professional evaluating the appropriateness of another physician's treatment
Peer review involves a qualified medical professional assessing whether the treatment provided was medically necessary, appropriate for the diagnosis, and consistent with accepted clinical standards.
Question 87: What is the primary goal of a damage evaluation?
- To minimize adjuster workload
- To determine accurate claim payment (Correct answer)
- To increase the claim settlement amount
- To delay the claims process
Correct answer: To determine accurate claim payment
The purpose of damage evaluation is to assess the extent of loss and determine the amount the insurer owes under the policy terms.
Question 88: Which federal law prohibits insurance companies from using race, color, religion, sex, or national origin as a basis for discriminatory claims handling?
- Fair Housing Act
- Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Correct answer)
- Equal Credit Opportunity Act
- McCarran-Ferguson Act
Correct answer: Civil Rights Act of 1964
The Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits discrimination in insurance services based on protected characteristics.
Question 89: What is the primary purpose of 'closing notes' in a claim file?
- To record the insured's payment history for future renewals
- To document the basis for settlement, actions taken, and the final resolution of the claim (Correct answer)
- To summarize the total premiums collected during the policy period
- To initiate the next year's policy renewal process
Correct answer: To document the basis for settlement, actions taken, and the final resolution of the claim
Closing notes provide a clear, documented record of the claim's resolution, rationale for the settlement amount, and all key actions taken during the adjustment process.
Question 90: What is 'last clear chance' in negligence law?
- A rule requiring mediation before litigation
- The final settlement offer before trial
- A doctrine allowing a plaintiff to recover despite their own negligence if the defendant had a final opportunity to avoid the harm (Correct answer)
- The insurer's last option to deny coverage
Correct answer: A doctrine allowing a plaintiff to recover despite their own negligence if the defendant had a final opportunity to avoid the harm
Last clear chance allows a negligent plaintiff to recover if the defendant had the final opportunity to prevent the injury but failed to act.
Question 91: What is 'vicarious liability'?
- Liability imposed on one party for the negligent acts of another (Correct answer)
- Strict liability for ultrahazardous activities
- Liability assumed under a written contract
- Liability arising from a defective product
Correct answer: Liability imposed on one party for the negligent acts of another
Vicarious liability holds one party (such as an employer) legally responsible for the acts of another (such as an employee) based on their relationship.
Question 92: A 'staged accident' is an example of which type of insurance fraud?
- Hard fraud (Correct answer)
- Medical billing fraud
- Premium evasion
- Soft fraud
Correct answer: Hard fraud
Hard fraud involves deliberately causing or fabricating a loss, such as staging a car accident, to collect insurance proceeds.
Question 93: What is the significance of a 'Stowers demand' (or Stowers doctrine) in a liability claim?
- It creates a duty for the insurer to accept a reasonable settlement offer within policy limits to protect the insured from excess liability (Correct answer)
- It grants the claimant the right to directly sue the insurer when the insured is uninsured
- It requires the insurer to deny any claim exceeding policy limits
- It allows the insured to demand that the insurer pay a settlement beyond policy limits
Correct answer: It creates a duty for the insurer to accept a reasonable settlement offer within policy limits to protect the insured from excess liability
The Stowers doctrine (originating in Texas but followed in various forms in many states) requires an insurer to accept a settlement demand within policy limits when a reasonably prudent insurer would do so, to protect the insured from an excess judgment.
Question 94: Under the principle of indemnity, what is the maximum amount an insured should receive from a property insurance settlement?
- The face value of the policy
- An amount that restores the insured to the same financial position as before the loss (Correct answer)
- The insured's emotional valuation of the property
- The full replacement cost of damaged property regardless of depreciation
Correct answer: An amount that restores the insured to the same financial position as before the loss
The principle of indemnity limits recovery to the amount that restores the insured to their pre-loss financial position, preventing profit from insurance.
Question 95: When making a settlement offer to a claimant, an adjuster should base the amount on:
- The insurer's desire to close the file quickly
- A thorough investigation, documented damages, and applicable policy coverage (Correct answer)
- The claimant's emotional state and persistence
- The claimant's attorney's initial demand without analysis
Correct answer: A thorough investigation, documented damages, and applicable policy coverage
Settlement offers must be grounded in documented damages, liability assessment, and policy coverage to be defensible and fair.
Question 96: A claimant's attorney sends a lien from a health insurer for medical payments. What obligation does this create for the adjuster?
- The adjuster must pay the lien separately from any claimant settlement
- The adjuster must account for the lien in the settlement and ensure it is resolved before or as part of payment (Correct answer)
- The adjuster must deny the claim to avoid the lien
- Liens from health insurers are unenforceable and can be ignored
Correct answer: The adjuster must account for the lien in the settlement and ensure it is resolved before or as part of payment
Health insurer liens must be acknowledged and addressed in the settlement process; ignoring them can expose the insurer to additional liability for failing to protect the lienholder's interest.
Question 97: When a covered building loss involves ordinance or law compliance upgrades required by local building codes, which additional coverage is needed to pay for these mandated improvements?
- Extended replacement cost endorsement
- Building code depreciation waiver
- Replacement cost endorsement
- Ordinance or law coverage (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Ordinance or law coverage
Ordinance or law coverage pays the increased cost of construction required to bring a damaged building into compliance with current building codes, which standard property policies exclude.
Question 98: In the context of bodily injury claims, 'pain and suffering' damages represent:
- The cost of pain medication and physical therapy sessions
- The projected cost of future medical treatment for chronic pain
- Lost wages due to inability to work because of ongoing pain
- Non-economic damages for physical pain, emotional distress, and reduced quality of life (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Non-economic damages for physical pain, emotional distress, and reduced quality of life
Pain and suffering are non-economic general damages compensating claimants for the physical and emotional impact of injuries beyond objectively measurable financial losses such as medical bills or lost wages.
Question 99: A workers' compensation adjuster receives a claim for a cumulative trauma disorder. What is the key question to establish compensability?
- Whether the employer had prior notice of the employee's medical history
- Whether the injury was reported within 24 hours
- Whether a doctor treated the employee before the claim was filed
- Whether the condition arose out of and in the course of employment due to work activities (Correct answer)
Correct answer: Whether the condition arose out of and in the course of employment due to work activities
For cumulative trauma claims, the adjuster must determine whether repetitive work activities were a contributing cause of the condition, satisfying the 'arising out of employment' standard.
Question 100: What is a primary ethical responsibility of a claims adjuster?
- Settle quickly at all costs
- Act honestly and transparently (Correct answer)
- Maximize claim payouts
- Provide legal advice
Correct answer: Act honestly and transparently
Maintaining honesty and transparency ensures trust and integrity in the claims process.
Florida All-Lines Certified Claims Adjuster (CCA)
The Florida CCA designation certifies insurance professionals in all-lines claims adjusting, covering auto, property, liability, workers compensation, and fraud detection across personal and commercial lines.
Exam Rules
- You can skip questions and return to them later
- Flag questions for review before submitting
- No feedback shown until you submit the entire exam
- Unanswered questions count as wrong — answer everything
- 10 pretest questions are mixed in and don't affect your score
- Timer auto-submits when time runs out
- Your progress is auto-saved every 30 seconds